What I care about in the Olympics

August 13, 2008 at 9:51 am 3 comments

Women’s gymnastics takes silver to China? Men’s gymnastics takes silver too, but in an upset? Michael Phelps breaks every record there is?

No, this is what I care about:


Fabian Cancellara rides the time trial of his life to win gold after taking bronze in the road race, and Levi Leipheimer brings it home for the USA with a bronze. Even though the road race was boring, the boys came through with one hell of a time trial event. The Olympics are never well suited to the 100+ mile road race format, but time trials provide just the right mix of brevity and a close race to make them exciting.

Too bad the men’s time trial is only online or on MSNBC. Apparently they’re going to broadcast the women’s tonight, but the men’s is where the excitement was this morning. Thanks to Pez Cycling News for great coverage where the American press falls flat as always.

Entry filed under: Cycling.

CML Goes 2.0 Learned

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Thunderchyld  |  August 13, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    This is something that does need to be put out there for all to see. I may have to look this up when I have time.

    –TC

    Reply
  • 2. Christin  |  August 18, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    I liked the fact that Michael Phelps was able to win allof his 8 medals. Whenever he finished the race, he looked so calm like it didn’t take any effort.

    Reply
  • 3. R C  |  August 28, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Awww, but I am so glad you commented on the Olympics. I loved the rhythmic gymnastics. So many skills packed into those performances.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

My Books

my Goodreads shelves my 'read' shelf:
 my read shelf

RSS My Ride

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Add to Technorati Favorites

